NSMQ2022: 5 things we learnt from PRESEC’s SEVEN a living God feat


PRESEC Legon has attained a new feat and extended their record to seven trophies in the National Science and Maths Quiz (NSMQ).

They also stopped Prempeh College from smashing their back-to-back record. “We’re ‘seven’ a living God,” they chanted.

Here are five facts from the championship:

  1. Only PRESEC has completed a back-to-back win

The 2021 champions, Prempeh College were looking to successfully defend the title but their dreams were dashed in the dying moments of the grand finale after PRESEC Legon picked up three of four riddles to win the tie and the competition.

Thus, PRESEC’s record remains intact. They won the 2008 competition and successfully defended the title in 2009.


Since then, no school has successfully defended the NSMQ trophy.

  1. PRESEC are the most successful school in the 29-year history of the competition

As previously stated, PRESEC has won a record seventh title. Prempeh College trails with five titles.

PRESEC were the champions in 1995, 2003, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2020 and are the 2022 champions.

  1. No Girls’ School has been seeded

All the girls’ schools were eliminated at the one-eighth stage of the 2022 competition.

This prevented any of them from earning a seeded spot for the 2023 competition.

Wesley Girls SHS from Cape Coast who had hitherto been the torch bearer for girls’ schools in the competition suffered defeat at the hands of Mawuli School from Ho.

  1. No girls’ school has won the trophy

It is not the first year that the girls’ school had a poor run in the competition. None of them has ever won the competition.

Only Wesley Girls SHS came close in 1999 when they made it to the final. They however lost to Mfantsipim School.

NSMQ2022: 5 things we learnt from PRESEC's SEVEN a living God feat
  1. Only 11 schools have won the trophy in the 29-year history of the competition

Only 11 schools have won the competition since its inception in 1994.

PRESEC stopped St James Seminary SHS in the semifinal after the latter looked like they would become the twelfth school to win it.

For now, the number remains eleven.

The schools are PRESEC, Prempeh College, Adisadel College, Opoku Ware School, St Augustine’s College, Mfantsipim School, St Thomas Aquinas, Achimota School, St Peter’s School, Pope John SHS, and Ghana Secondary Technical School.


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments